Look For Love

Hello there!

I’m Mandie Hartigan, and I’d like to welcome you to my little slice of the blog world!

amanda_hartigan

Way back in 2008, I had another blog that chronicled my search for health and wellness while recovering from a very stressful time in my life. While I enjoyed learning how to cook and creating recipes in the process, I eventually outgrew the blog when I moved across the country to attend college.

9 years later, now I’m back with a different message and mission at hand. While my love of organization and planning would love to categorize this blog as one thing or another, the truth is that I’m not quite sure what it will grow to be. Lately I’ve been learning the power of staying open to new opportunities – so that’s exactly what I’m going to do with this blog.

In the meantime, I would like to take the time to introduce myself in this first post, while also sharing an important message that’s been on my heart.

***

This past Thanksgiving, my boyfriend’s sister sat down with me and – uncharacteristically – seriously asked me what 3 things I love doing most.

I was dumbfounded. 3 things? Really? How could I possibly decide?

…Until I realized that I could not even come up with 1.

I panicked. I felt silly for not being able to articulate what I love, especially since I consider myself to be a very passionate person. I felt like a failure for not “doing” enough or being enough. I was confused to say the least.

While I recovered the conversation and somehow came up with a pretty solid list, I was reminded of this concept again while reading You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero for my company’s book club. Sincero asserts that in order to be successful, we must find what we love and go after it – all while shutting out judgement and ignoring resistance.

Similarly, my favorite fitness group Tone It Up recently started a challenge called “Look for Love”, focusing on doing what you love and learning to love yourself in the process.

Basically, the message has been hitting me over the head. Rather than ignore it, I’m deciding to lean in.

So in an effort to solidify what I love and hopefully move in the direction of connecting more closely with my personal mission, here’s 10 things I love (in no particular order):

  • Walking – anywhere and everywhere
  • Learning new things
  • Cooking and baking, especially when it’s to share with others
  • Dogs that look like they’re smiling
  • Listening to personal stories and getting to know someone’s heart
  • Teaching other’s about health and wellness
  • Experiencing things through my 5 senses (especially smell, touch, and sight)
  • Farmer’s markets
  • Working out and feeling strong
  • Brunch with friends

And with that, I’ll close in saying that clearly the universe is telling me to embrace what I love – and I can’t exactly argue with that 😉

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

